New Mexico Marathon

Well, I signed up yesterday for the New Mexico Marathon on 8/31/2008.  That’s Labor Day weekend (which conflicts with the opening weekend of dove season in the central zone…but I think I can get back in time).  It’s an interesting race course for a flatlander such as myself to undertake (see elevation profile).  Apparently it starts in the thin air at 5800 ft and drops 1000 ft between miles 8 and 14.  For your “average” runner that’s probably not that big of a deal…but for your’s truly at 250 lbs it could very well be.  I might just have to do something about the extra tonnage between now and then (5 months). 

NMmarathonele

I plan to start building up my weekly mileage next week as it’s been pitifully low for a couple of months (thus the 30ish extra lbs).

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “New Mexico Marathon”

  1. yellowbrickbrand Says:

    Run, honey, run!

  2. Alan (AKA: TAB) Says:

    two fitty?!?! Dang….did you eat a little kid or something? I’m thinking of taking up soccer again….partially inspired by you running the pigskin on the eastside years ago. I’m not too old am I? Wanna play?

Leave a Reply

