Marathon Training Update

I could not believe how hard my long run felt last weekend.  It had me seriously doubting my ability to make it to the start line, let alone finish, in one piece.  Not a good sign 5 weeks into a 13 week build up…

A week later I’ve done a complete 180.  I ran a hilly 14 miler this Saturday and actually felt really good.  Oddly enough, my two longest runs during this build up were extraordinarily hilly (Stratford-12 and Scenic-14) but I reserved an epic meltdown for one that was flat as a pancake?!  Go figure.

Good sign, bad sign?  I don’t know.  I do know that I’m stepping up to 16 this Saturday…and I plan to take it a week at a time for the next 6 weeks before bringing on the taper.

I’ll go ahead and toss my long run schedule out there and then return to comment on how each went:
7/12 = 16
7/19 = 10
7/26 = 18
8/2 = 20
8/9 = 10
8/16 = 20

For the week I managed to scrape together a little over 34 miles…first 30+ mile week in a long time.  I have two 50+ milers on the schedule over the next several weeks.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

