20 Miler

I looked back through my training log (that I’ve been keeping since 7/2000…right after my first marathon) to confirm some thoughts I had regarding past marathon build ups.

Two months out from a marathon I’m typically running long runs of about 14 miles, not 20!  The 20 miler I did this weekend went well.  I’m “off schedule” with regards to my group’s flat/hill rotation.  We run the trail (flat) and the roads (hilly) on alternating Saturdays.  For some reason, my long runs have been coinciding with the “hilly” Saturday…which is fine, I guess, but painful.  I’m going to knock out another 20 miler this Saturday that will be flat.  That’ll let me compare my current fitness level with prior build ups.

Schedule adjustment:

20
20
14
21
22
16
20
7
Race

Leave a Reply

