Apple Cider Vinegar & Aloe Juice

After a hill workout a couple of months ago, a few of us were standing around talking and the subject of snoring came up.  I told them that, to the best of my knowledge, I didn’t snore…but I do occasionally wake my wife up moaning and groaning from a cramp. 

The cramp seems to be in the same muscle every time…either the vastus medialis or the sartorius.  It is pain beyond hamstring or calf cramps and it is VERY hard to release (ie it cannot be easily stretched or countered).

Hillary recommended a concoction of two parts apple cider vinegar and two parts aloe juice (basically two tablespoons of each) in a shot glass.  I was skeptical but tried it.

I must say, it was hard to get down at first.  The vinegar is pretty tart and the aloe doesn’t dilute it much.  That’s the bad news.  The good news is, it works!  I’ve yet to cramp since I started drinking it.  I try to drink some every morning unless I’ve had a particularly tough workout…then I drink it at night also.

My friend Joe says you could probably get the same results from pickle juice (you can actually buy it at Academy) but I haven’t tried it yet.

Leave a Reply

